A Nutrition-Packed Week!

Wow. This week has been action-packed full of nutrition information! I attended the Louisiana Dietetic Association (LDA) Food and Nutrition Conference and Expo Sunday through Tuesday and then Thursday through Saturday is full of Registered Dietitian Exam Study Course workshop. Lots and lots (and lots and lots) of nutrition information. The LDA conference was good. I attended a wine and cheese reception in the evening and had my picture taken with Deuce McAllister (former New Orleans Saints running back). I asked my dietetic director to be in the picture with me. It will be a nice accent to my dietetic office in the future! On Monday I attended workshops on non-nutritive sweeteners (ie Splenda, Truvia, NutraSweet, etc), “out of the box” careers in dietetics, Nutrition Care Process, the power of protein, kidney and mineral health, Spanish in the dietetic field, information on licensing, registration, etc.

Overall, it was a pretty good conference. It was my first official conference in the field of dietetics. I got an awesome bag to carry all my awesome info and goodies from the exhibits. The speakers for the most part were good, however, they all seemed to be sponsored by some big name research company who most likely were biased one way or the other. Also, the ‘vegetarian lunch’ was very unsatisfying. The best thing that happened to me during the 3 days at the conference, however, was that I won one of the door prizes! I will be helping myself to some Target-shopping soon enough.

I got home Tuesday night and thought to myself that I could not handle one more piece of nutrition information for at least a week…then I reminded myself that Thursday through Saturday were going to be filled with more nutrition information than I could ever believe possible. Needless to say, I survived. The last 2 days have been filled with Food Service and Management, Food Science, Basic Nutrition and Medical Nutrition Therapy. Tomorrow will consist of Community Nutrition Services, Education and Research and Test Preparation Guidelines. YIKES. I have a lot of studying to do before July!

For those future dietitians out there, I highly suggest taking an RD study course. There are methods of taking the exam that you are given, a binder full of lab values, risk factors, calculations, rationale and so much more that will be priceless when it comes to studying for the RD exam. I know there are several study package options out there and they are not cheap, but you have to think about how you learn the best. It may be very helpful. I have heard from a few people that it just doesn’t seem worth it because it costs so much. Overall, you just have to decide where your priorities lie.

I hope you will check back soon for some delicious information on crawfish….I know I would! 🙂

About laurenfaye

I am a dietitian in the New Orleans area currently working at 2 clinics counseling women, infants and children. I received my Human Nutrition Bachelors Degree with a minor in Psychology from the University of Illinois at Chicago and completed my dietetic internship practice through Tulane University. I love food: the way it tastes, the way it looks, and the science behind it. I originally started this blog to give myself practice on writing about food. However, since becoming a dietitian full time I have decided to expand it a little further to cover other things I am passionate about as well. I am a retired Irish Dance Instructor since co-founding the Triallta Irish Dance Company. I am also versed in ballet, tap, belly dance, swing dance and acrobatics. I love fitness, learning and love meeting new people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Nutrition-Packed Week!

  1. Pingback: Where to Find Great Info on Eating Right! « Working Well Resources' Blog

Leave a Reply

