Make Yourself

“When you define yourself by your job, it’s hard to find the courage to stop working—even though most of us, in my professional opinion, are working far too hard!” – Marcelle Pick

I recently read this quote online and thought that it really needed to be read by just about everyone I know. Not only may this quote be true about your job, it’s also relevant in so many other aspects of life. I took it upon myself to put it into a number of contexts that you may relate to:

‘When you define yourself by your BOYFRIEND, it’s hard to find the courage to break up.’ (We are in love)

Or even…

‘When you define yourself by your BOYFRIEND, it’s hard to find the courage to love yourself’ (It’s not going to get any better)

‘When you define yourself by your WEIGHT, it’s hard to find the courage to love yourself.’ (I need to be thin to be happy)

‘When you define yourself by your PARENT’S mistakes, it’s hard to accept your own.’ (It’s not my fault that I’m this way).

We all need to come to the understanding that we are what we make ourselves to be. We all have circumstances or experiences in life that have shaped us, but it is up to you to move past them and make the most of it. I recently joined a social media group for people who have eating disorders (ED), have recovered from an ED, or are professionals in the field. I have met so many strong, young women in this group. They have really made me look at the way people heal and how we all have the ability to change. For those of you who do not know how serious an eating disorder can be, Anorexia Nervosa has the highest mortality rate of any mental illness. For these young women to come out of recovery and out of isolation and be some of the most supporting people I’ve encountered in months is, in itself, something to meditate on. Think about the quote above and how it relates to your own personal life. Fill in the blanks for yourself then meditate on it. You are in control of your life. You have the power to change. You were made to define yourself as you wish and even to not be defined at all!

“To love oneself is the beginning of a life-long romance” -Oscar Wilde

About laurenfaye

I am a dietitian in the New Orleans area currently working at 2 clinics counseling women, infants and children. I received my Human Nutrition Bachelors Degree with a minor in Psychology from the University of Illinois at Chicago and completed my dietetic internship practice through Tulane University. I love food: the way it tastes, the way it looks, and the science behind it. I originally started this blog to give myself practice on writing about food. However, since becoming a dietitian full time I have decided to expand it a little further to cover other things I am passionate about as well. I am a retired Irish Dance Instructor since co-founding the Triallta Irish Dance Company. I am also versed in ballet, tap, belly dance, swing dance and acrobatics. I love fitness, learning and love meeting new people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Make Yourself

  1. alissa says:

    I like your blog! Wow this post is sorta profound. I have to start thinking about how I define myself. I guess it’s hard to find the courage to love yourself, if you define yourself by forces beyond your control. I often define myself as a runner and a fitness junkie, which has been a struggle to figure out as I come through recovery and now I’m running a lot less and in the gym a lot less.

    • laurenfaye says:

      Thanks for the comment, Alissa. I’m glad you like the blog.
      It was a profound post and something I really struggled on posting in the first place. I thought that a lot of people may take (negative) issue with it. But I think those are the people who need to read it the most…so I decided to just post it. So glad I did because people like you, and others, have told me that they appreciate it.

  2. dinah says:

    what a great post 🙂 I get very tired of people blaming their behaviour on their upbringing. It’s true that parents take some responsibility for how you grow up, but at a certain point you’re old enough to make you’re own choices and decisions.
    Often if you start down the ‘I need to be x to be happy’ road you’ll never be x enough.

  3. Everything in life is a good example. Sometimes it is a good example of what not to do.. I have had two careers I have loved. I walked away from the first and if need be I will do it again. That said I don’t deny working way too hard at the things I am passionate about in my life. I have meet so many people through my careers that it is impossible not to be defined by the body of work for which I am.

Leave a Reply

